UberStudent Forums

Help and Community for Users of Uberstudent
Return to UberStudent Home Page
It is currently Wed Jan 17, 2018 10:06 pm

All times are UTC




UberStudent Logo Shirt
Hey! You can wear this UberCool UberStudent Logo Shirt

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Installing SageMath
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2015 1:40 pm 
Offline
UberStudent Forum Helper

Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2013 5:26 pm
Posts: 55
I downloaded a prebuild version of Sage, decompressed into a directory and run from there typing ./sage.
It works.But..
I wanted to use for it "Cantor" but It seems not to work.
I also tried to use a ppa :aims/sagemath from terminal but it doesn't work:
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/lib/uberstudent/uberstudentSources/uberstudentSources.py", line 1193, in <module>
add_ppa_via_cli(ppa_line, codename)
File "/usr/lib/uberstudent/uberstudentSources/uberstudentSources.py", line 32, in add_ppa_via_cli
user, sep, ppa_name = line.split(":")[1].partition("/")
IndexError: list index out of range
Could I have a script installing sage?
I tried to use the script of MathUbuntu to have many Math program on my favourute distro but unsuccessfully.
Thanks for help.
Enrico


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Installing SageMath
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2015 5:57 am 
Offline
UberStudent Founder and Lead Developer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2012 8:54 am
Posts: 954
Location: UberStudent Headquarters
Thanks for letting me know about this issue.

The issue is fixed in the package uberstudentsources_1.4.9.6_all.deb. Simply run normal updates from the Update Manager to get the updated package, and then again follow the directions to add the Sage PPA and install the program.

Has this fixed the issue?

_________________
UberStudent Must Become Self-Sustaining. If UberStudent and my dedicated support of it has benefited you, it's important to make a donation. Thanks!

The UberStudent Headquarters:
    * Mobo: MSI 870-G45
    * Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 3.4GHz
    * RAM: G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600
    * Graphics: MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti
    * Drive: OCZ Vertex SSD
    * Case: Rosewill ATX Mid Tower
    * Monitors: 2 x Dell UltraSharp
    * With UberStudent 4.3 Development Build
You should build your own computers, too!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Installing SageMath
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2015 3:58 pm 
Offline
UberStudent Forum Helper

Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2013 5:26 pm
Posts: 55
Thanks Stephen.
I have Sage on my Uberstudent. I have downloaded the binary, uncompressed it and run with the command :./sage from terminal.This has happened some time ago
I have also a folder in my home directory named .sage which is hidden, created by the system.
Before installing ppa and the sage from the ppa what I have to do? Cancel manually the uncompressed folder in Download and the folder .sage in my home directory?
Thank you

ps. I received the update in your answer and installed it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Installing SageMath
PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2015 7:24 am 
Offline
UberStudent Founder and Lead Developer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2012 8:54 am
Posts: 954
Location: UberStudent Headquarters
In the future, if you seek to add any PPA, it will add without error. Since you've installed Sage manually, there is no need to use the Sage PPA.

_________________
UberStudent Must Become Self-Sustaining. If UberStudent and my dedicated support of it has benefited you, it's important to make a donation. Thanks!

The UberStudent Headquarters:
    * Mobo: MSI 870-G45
    * Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 3.4GHz
    * RAM: G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600
    * Graphics: MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti
    * Drive: OCZ Vertex SSD
    * Case: Rosewill ATX Mid Tower
    * Monitors: 2 x Dell UltraSharp
    * With UberStudent 4.3 Development Build
You should build your own computers, too!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Installing SageMath
PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2015 3:21 pm 
Offline
UberStudent Forum Helper

Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2013 5:26 pm
Posts: 55
I wanted to put the executable sage in /src/local/bin creating a symbolic link as described in :
'''
You can move the resulting directory sage-x.y.z-x86_64-Linux anywhere and still run ./sage from it, as long as the full path name has no spaces in it. You can also copy the file sage from that directory and put it anywhere, e.g., /usr/local/bin/, but then you have to edit the #SAGE_ROOT=/path/to/sage-version line at the top of the copied file /usr/local/bin/sage (you should not edit the original sage executable). The variable SAGE_ROOT should point to the directory sage-x.y.z-x86_64-Linux of the extracted Sage tarball. As long as /usr/local/bin is in your $PATH, you can then type sage from the command line to run Sage. Another approach is to create a symbolic link, say /usr/local/bin/sage, pointing to sage-x.y.z-x86_64-Linux/sage
'''
I copied the file but coudn't paste in /scr/local/bin
I wanted to do so becouse even if I indicated the path to the executable in Cantor Setting it gives me a notice: failed to start Sage.It's a new way to see if it works.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

Click Here to Get Inexpensive UberStudent Discs


Click here to get UberStudent discs delivered to your mailbox
Delivered Directly to Your Mailbox!



All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group