UberStudent Forums

Help and Community for Users of Uberstudent
Return to UberStudent Home Page
It is currently Sun Jun 24, 2018 3:33 am

All times are UTC




UberStudent Logo Shirt
Hey! You can wear this UberCool UberStudent Logo Shirt

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Google Chrome Won't Run
PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2015 5:54 pm 
Offline
Established UberStudent User

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2014 4:28 am
Posts: 11
Hello. After the last update of Google Chrome, it stopped running. I have google-chrome-stable 46.0.2490.80-1. Synapitc also shows google-chrome-beta 47 and google-chrome-unstable 48. Chromimum does run however. How can I get Chrome to run?


Top
 Profile  
 

Get an UberCool UberStudent Shirt!

UberStudent Logo Shirt
UberStudent Logo Shirt by uberstudent
See other Uberstudent T-Shirts
PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2015 3:58 am 
Offline
UberStudent Founder and Lead Developer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2012 8:54 am
Posts: 956
Location: UberStudent Headquarters
Sounds like you may have installed a messy Google Chrome competition among the three versions of it you have installed. People who install betas and unstables should fully expect problems, not just with the programs themselves but with how they interact on a system. Testing for problems is exactly the point! :geek: If you simply install Google Chrome from the UberStudent package google-chrome-meta, it works flawlessly, which is also the point, why I take the time to make metapackages devoted to installing a single program. :ugeek: I'm using Google Chrome installed in this manner right now. ;)

Still, let's see if we can unwind the knot. Please try the following:

(1) Open a terminal, one you can easily close, such as from Applications menu > Terminal.

(2) Run the following line it in:
Code:
google-chrome-stable |& tee $HOME/Desktop/google-chrome-stable-result.txt
Note that you can copy that line and paste it in to the terminal by using Ctrl+Shift+V.

(3) If Google Chrome opens, use it for a few minutes to see if everything is working fine and then exit it. Then, exit the terminal, and then post here the content of the file google-chrome-stable-result.txt that will have been placed on your desktop.

(4) If Google Chrome ran fine by that method, there may just be something wrong with the shortcut you are using to run it. If you are using a shortcut at Applications menu > Internet > Browsers > Google Chrome, let's check it. Right-click over your Application menu, select Properties, and then select Edit Menu. Navigate to Google Chrome, click Properties, and in the Command section it should say:
Code:
/usr/bin/google-chrome-stable %U
If not, place that text there and then use the shortcut to run the program.

Does this fix the issue? If so, and if you are using another shortcut causing problems, such as one you placed on the panel, fix the shortcut in your menu, delete you panel shortcut, and then recreate it from the one in the Applications menu. In this way, perhaps you can at least keep the stable version isolated when you want it.

_________________
UberStudent Must Become Self-Sustaining. If UberStudent and my dedicated support of it has benefited you, it's important to make a donation. Thanks!

The UberStudent Headquarters:
    * Mobo: MSI 870-G45
    * Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 3.4GHz
    * RAM: G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600
    * Graphics: MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti
    * Drive: OCZ Vertex SSD
    * Case: Rosewill ATX Mid Tower
    * Monitors: 2 x Dell UltraSharp
    * With UberStudent 4.3 Development Build
You should build your own computers, too!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2015 8:55 pm 
Offline
Established UberStudent User

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2014 4:28 am
Posts: 11
Ok. 1) I did not install the unstable or beta. They were there when I ran synaptic to check the version of chrome.
2) I ran the first string you gave me in terminal.This is what I got -

[7255:7255:1111/155119:ERROR:browser_main_loop.cc(243)] Gtk: Locale not supported by C library.
Using the fallback 'C' locale.
Gtk-Message: (for origin information, set GTK_DEBUG): failed to retrieve property `ChromeGtkFrame::scrollbar-slider-prelight-color' of type `GdkColor' from rc file value "((GString*) 0xada7d911940)" of type `GString'


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2015 1:01 pm 
Offline
Established UberStudent User

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2014 4:28 am
Posts: 11
I uninstalled and reinstalled Chrome. Still won't run.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 20, 2015 2:36 am 
Offline
UberStudent Founder and Lead Developer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2012 8:54 am
Posts: 956
Location: UberStudent Headquarters
It looks like a known, unfixed bug related to switching locales. Here's how to work around it:

1. Right-click over the Applications menu and go to Properties > Edit Menu and then navigate to your menu entry for Google Chrome. Click Properties and then in the Command section replace /usr/bin/google-chrome-stable %U with the following:
Code:
sh -c "LANG=$LANG /usr/bin/google-chrome-stable %U"
Click OK to exit the menu editor and try launching Google Chrome again.

Does this fix the issue?

_________________
UberStudent Must Become Self-Sustaining. If UberStudent and my dedicated support of it has benefited you, it's important to make a donation. Thanks!

The UberStudent Headquarters:
    * Mobo: MSI 870-G45
    * Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 3.4GHz
    * RAM: G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600
    * Graphics: MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti
    * Drive: OCZ Vertex SSD
    * Case: Rosewill ATX Mid Tower
    * Monitors: 2 x Dell UltraSharp
    * With UberStudent 4.3 Development Build
You should build your own computers, too!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2015 4:35 pm 
Offline
Established UberStudent User

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2014 4:28 am
Posts: 11
Sorry I took so long. No, it did not work


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2015 9:19 pm 
Offline
UberStudent Founder and Lead Developer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2012 8:54 am
Posts: 956
Location: UberStudent Headquarters
Let's try creating a new profile.

In a terminal run
Code:
mv $HOME/.config/google-chrome $HOME/.config/google-chrome.old

Then try to run it again.

Does it work?

If not, please run the following in a terminal:
Code:
locale -a &> $HOME/Desktop/my-locales.txt

A file my-locales.txt will be placed on your desktop. Open it and copy the text into your next post.

_________________
UberStudent Must Become Self-Sustaining. If UberStudent and my dedicated support of it has benefited you, it's important to make a donation. Thanks!

The UberStudent Headquarters:
    * Mobo: MSI 870-G45
    * Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 3.4GHz
    * RAM: G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600
    * Graphics: MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti
    * Drive: OCZ Vertex SSD
    * Case: Rosewill ATX Mid Tower
    * Monitors: 2 x Dell UltraSharp
    * With UberStudent 4.3 Development Build
You should build your own computers, too!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 18, 2015 7:09 pm 
Offline
Established UberStudent User

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2014 4:28 am
Posts: 11
After putting in the first line, it tried to run but the screen quickly shut down.
Here is my-locales.txt output.

locale: Cannot set LC_CTYPE to default locale: No such file or directory
locale: Cannot set LC_MESSAGES to default locale: No such file or directory
locale: Cannot set LC_COLLATE to default locale: No such file or directory
C
C.UTF-8
POSIX
en_AG
en_AG.utf8
en_AU.utf8
en_BW.utf8
en_CA.utf8
en_DK.utf8
en_GB.utf8
en_HK.utf8
en_IE.utf8
en_IN
en_IN.utf8
en_NG
en_NG.utf8
en_NZ.utf8
en_PH.utf8
en_SG.utf8
en_US.utf8
en_ZA.utf8
en_ZM
en_ZM.utf8
en_ZW.utf8


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 19, 2015 7:21 am 
Offline
UberStudent Founder and Lead Developer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2012 8:54 am
Posts: 956
Location: UberStudent Headquarters
The first three lines tell me that something somehow got messed up with your locales. Perhaps that is the issue.

Let's try regenerating your locale. Please open a terminal (hit F12 on your keyboard in UberStudent) and run the following lines, one at a time:
Code:
rm -rf $HOME/.config/google-chrome

sudo locale-gen "en_US.UTF-8"

sudo dpkg-reconfigure locales

Note that you may choose to instead set British English, or another variant thereof, by substituting its code in the above line. For example, if you'd prefer British English, you would substitute like this: "en_GB.UTF-8" for "en_US.UTF-8"

Does that solve the issue?

_________________
UberStudent Must Become Self-Sustaining. If UberStudent and my dedicated support of it has benefited you, it's important to make a donation. Thanks!

The UberStudent Headquarters:
    * Mobo: MSI 870-G45
    * Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 3.4GHz
    * RAM: G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600
    * Graphics: MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti
    * Drive: OCZ Vertex SSD
    * Case: Rosewill ATX Mid Tower
    * Monitors: 2 x Dell UltraSharp
    * With UberStudent 4.3 Development Build
You should build your own computers, too!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 19, 2015 7:48 pm 
Offline
Established UberStudent User

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2014 4:28 am
Posts: 11
No. A window (Untitled - Google Chrome) tries to open for a second then closes.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Click Here to Get Inexpensive UberStudent Discs


Click here to get UberStudent discs delivered to your mailbox
Delivered Directly to Your Mailbox!



All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group