UberStudent Forums
http://uberstudent.com/phpBB/

D-BUS message on the boot
http://uberstudent.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=1138
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Sergey N Pronkin [ Thu Feb 11, 2016 12:36 pm ]
Post subject:  D-BUS message on the boot

Hello,

Sorry, but I still have this D-BUS message after booting (see screenshot attached). I made the steps suggested in the first few posts: activating Gnome services, and checking if the line 5 in applicationmenu file (in fact, it was already commented in my instalation). But the error still appears irregularly, not every reboot.

This is a minor annoyance in otherwise smoothly running enviroment. But still, can it be fixed somehow?

Thank you, and all the best!

Attachments:
Screenshot_2016-02-10_08-59-31.png
Screenshot_2016-02-10_08-59-31.png [ 592.53 KiB | Viewed 10356 times ]

Author:  Ralf Kestler [ Fri Feb 12, 2016 5:25 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: D-BUS message on the boot

Hi,

I had the same issue. In the list with the automatically started applications I have found the Option "ATI-SPI D Bus Bus". Since I've disabled it, I don't get that message. I hope it might help.

Author:  Stephen Ewen [ Sat Feb 13, 2016 7:30 am ]
Post subject:  Re: D-BUS message on the boot

This issue is explained in the Release Notes (README file) of UberStudent 4.3:

https://sourceforge.net/projects/uberstudent/files/Releases/Heraclitus/ wrote:
4.3 KNOWN LIMITATIONS, ISSUES, and BUGS

[...]

* Possible DBUS error just after bootup that freezes desktop activity
for several seconds

WORKAROUND:
Let the desktop fully load and all notifications
dissappear before clicking anything! Alternately, you can
go to Settings Menu > Session and Startup and UNTICK the
entry for Menu Pre-Start. Then, you will just have to have
a few seconds lag for items to appear from your
Applications Menu after you click it the first time
during a session.

Author:  Sergey N Pronkin [ Tue Feb 16, 2016 1:19 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: D-BUS message on the boot

Oi, sorry about not checking the Release Notes beforehand. Yes, it is working fine now, after unticking Menu Pre-start. Thank you!

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/