It is currently Sun Apr 22, 2018 1:16 am

All times are UTC

UberStudent Logo Shirt
Hey! You can wear this UberCool UberStudent Logo Shirt

Post subject: JB "Jonathan" Horen
PostPosted: Thu Aug 08, 2013 3:20 am 
New UberStudent User

Shalom!

I'm "forcibly retired" (read: unemployed), holding on for dear life in the run-up to early Social Security benefits (eight months, and counting). In what feel like several past-lives, I spent 23 years as a Unix/Linux systems administrator, 12 years as a technical writer, and several years as an electronic technician. I've been a Unix user since 1984. I spent 25 years in Israel, where I learned to use and administer computers and the software that runs on them.

I've been using Linux since 1996, beginning with RedHat/4.0 and continuing through RHEL/5.6 and Linux Mint 11 (which I run on my 12-year-old, home-built desktop workstation, and netbook computers). Although not a college graduate, I spent six years working at Tel-Aviv University's computation center, and one year running the Mac-centric computer system for a local private school.

I only today learned about the UberStudent distribution, and plan to install it on a virtual machine; later, if it proves interesting, on a partition of its own. My personal interest in UberStudent is as a "practical advocate" for alternative operating systems -- especially those that make effective use of "leaner, less-robust" hardware (my desktop workstation boasts dual 1.4GHz Pentium-III processors -- low-end, by any of today's standards).

I've used the XFCE desktop environment, but that was in its infancy; I'm much more familiar (and comfortable) with Gnome 2 (which is why I have not updated from Linux Mint 11).

We shall see, eh?

Get an UberCool UberStudent Shirt!

UberStudent Logo Shirt
UberStudent Logo Shirt by uberstudent
See other Uberstudent T-Shirts
 Post subject: Re: JB "Jonathan" Horen
PostPosted: Thu Aug 08, 2013 3:32 am 
UberStudent Founder and Lead Developer